Skip to content

Happy Birthday Courtney as we Read Across America

February 23, 2014
books for special education

West Texas Girls – At a picnic on the Rio Grande

So, I just finished doing the Court’s Kids taxes, something I, as a creative, am not a fan of. But, as President of Court’s Kids, it is my serious task for the year. My main fear is that I will goof it up. We don’t bring in much, and what we do bring in goes right back out. As we planned. Our initial goal when we started was to get books in, raise shipping money and ship books out. We’re doing just that and I couldn’t be happier.

 

When we started this I had just lost my baby sister, the other half of the dynamic duo of Kiki and Courtney. I was a part of a team and then…I wasn’t. I was lost. She had just sent me a care package of her copies of the “Twilight” series and, as a new mom of a beautiful little boy, I was naturally up at the break of dawn and they kept me company. Those books helped me so much, I needed the break from reality for a minute or two. I missed my sister and here, I had in my hands, a book she had held not to long ago. Every once in a while I walk by those books and just touch them, I can feel her there.

 

It’s Read Across America day soon, March 3rd, the day before what would have been her 33rd birthday. She loved reading, and loved Dr. Seuss, who doesn’t? All of her work with children with special needs can be summed up with this quote:

“Today you are you. That’s truer that true! There’s no one alive that’s you-er than you!”

I’m off to read “Havisham” by Ronald Frame, I’m dying to know about Mis Havisham before being left at the alter.  What are you reading?

Little by little,

Kiki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Paul Czekaj permalink
    February 25, 2014 12:06 pm

    Hi, my name is Paul Czekaj singer/song writer. My friend Becky Mason who was my Daughters elementary school librarian asked me if I could write a song in celebration of “Read Across America” to share with her students. I wrote an original song called “Reading’s Lot’s of Fun” that features many Dr. Seuss books I remember reading as a child. I’ve been performing the song at the school for the children for the past fifteen years! They really like it a lot. It’s a very upbeat bouncy song. It has been enjoyed so much that I recorded the song and added a fun video to go along with it. Here’s the link to watch it. http://youtu.be/qM3ZL9d_wKc You can also watch “Reading’s Lot’s of Fun” and all my videos by going to youtube and typing in my name Paul Czekaj. The words to the song are below. I hope you enjoy it and share it with any child who loves to read.

    Paul Czekaj

    Reading’s Lot’s of Fun

    Dr. Seuss Dr. Seuss, He makes reading lots of fun. Chorus.

    Dr. Seuss Dr. Seuss, I don’t know what story is my favorite one.

    One of the stories that I laugh at, Is the one with the boy and his 500 hats.

    Or that sticky stuff that was a pain in the neck, Poor old Bartholomew and the oobleck. Chorus

    A flower growing out of your head is crazy. But it happened in the story of daisy-Head Mayzie

    Horton told the mayor to make noise until. The kangaroos heard them, so he saved Who-ville. Chorus

    The tongue twisting rhymes by socks in fox, Could never be repeated by old Mr. Knox.

    Horton sat on a egg on tree that bent, Cause an elephant’s faithful, One hundred percent. Chorus

    Thidwick the big hearted moose is the best. Cause a host above all must be nice to his guests.

    For breakfast if you what green eggs and ham.Your gonna have to see a guy named Sam I Am. Chorus

    Don’t know which story eeee…eeeeee Is my fav fav fav fav fav fav favorite one

Leave a Reply

