Skip to content

Where the Wild Things Are

June 3, 2012

Each night, at bedtime, our little guy gets to pick three stories to read. Often we get stuck on three favorites for a while, reading and re-reading the same three nightly. Every week or so a different book catches his eye and we work it into the rotation. Most recently he has been in love with Maurice Sendak’s “Where the Wild Things Are”, he’s hooked…in the last few days I have probably read this one a hundred times. We love it. Beautifully illustrated, this story of Max exploring his wild side, his imagination and his feelings of anger, fear and comfort is a classic and, in my opinion, a must-have in the home library.

As we’ve been reading it over and over, I’ve been thinking about Max and how upon landing in the land of the Wild Things, instead of being scared he scares the Wild Things. He is crowned King of the Wild Things and the wild rumpus starts! There’s dancing, there’s swinging and marching, all sorts of fun. It was the Wild Thing in Max that made him stand, unafraid. It made me think of times when I’ve been scared or uncertain and my only choice is to face that fear, get back up, keep moving forward. I think it is the Wild Thing in us that makes us stand up to fear or, after being kicked down, get back up and keep going.

For those who knew her, it’s no secret that Courtney was a bit of a Wild Thing. She was a fighter, fiercely defending her family, advocating for kids with special needs and never giving up (sometimes to a fault). I want Court’s Kids to embody that spirit, that strength to stand strong in the face of the seemingly insurmountable and let the wild rumpus start.

Sometimes, I think of Courtney as being across the sea, “over a year, in and out of weeks and through a day” where the wild things are…where she is Queen.

To all our fellow Wild Things…let the wild rumpus start!

Little by little,

Kiki

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carla Kennedy permalink
    June 4, 2012 7:42 am

    It’s a great legacy and defines her perfectly. Thanks for honoring her this way.

  2. Sandi Z. permalink
    June 5, 2012 1:42 pm

    Ah yes, your message truly describes the Courtney I knew and loved. She was loyal, generous, and a mother tigress with anything that involved her family! What a fitting tribute for the 3rd anniversary of her passing that is coming up later this month.

  3. June 5, 2012 10:42 pm

    Yes, I am crying. Crying for what I have lost and, at the same time, crying for what I have. You, my wild thing woman child, you have the strength I wish I had. I am proud to know you and in awe that you are mine. Thank you for pushing through and creating this perfectly perfect vehicle to continue the spirit that is our Courtney.

Leave a Reply

