Skip to content

Love You Forever

May 13, 2012

In our house we read a lot, my little one has to be cut off at the end of the night. Maybe it is his age (he’s three) but, if I agreed, we’d be up all night reading story after story. There’s only one story, however, that I can barely get through without crying and that is “Love You Forever” by Robert Munsch. To say it is a tear jerker for a mom is a total understatement.

I'll love you forever

I’ll love you forever…

It is a beautiful depiction of the circle of life, starting out with a mom rocking her teeny tiny baby, saying “I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always, as long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be”…gulp…really? I can’t even type this without getting choked up. I remember that moment, the first time I rocked Colin to sleep in my arms, nothing short of amazing. The book continues, following the mother and son through all of life’s stages until it is the son’s turn to care for his mother. It’s so sweet, so loving, so accurate a depiction of a mother’s love for her child.

On this Mother’s Day we at Court’s Kids salute all mothers, big and small, short and tall, working and stay-at-home, old and young, single and not…in all shapes and forms. May you be surrounded by those you’ll love forever and like for always…

Little by little,

Kiki

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

