Skip to content

Recap on the Big Sort

August 21, 2011

Sorting Books for our Partner Schools

It was a beautiful day. We woke up to clear skies and bright sun that never left us. We had our first 90 degree day here in Portland which was great. I’m no stranger to heat, growing up in West Texas I’ve had my fair share of warm weather. And, with my parents and a brother still living in Texas, I’ve been hearing all about the hot weather plaguing my home state. But, here it was so welcome.

We had so much fun. Kathy, my mother-in-law came to help. It was so fun to have her be a part of this. And she loved it because she could hop upstairs every now and then to visit with her grandson. Marcia, my friend, Court’s Kids board member and a loyal book sorter arrived with fresh strawberries from her garden. What a treat!

books for special education

Hard at work, sorting (and singing)

They day flew by, we tore through boxes of books donated from our friends at River City and boxes donated by my good friend and roommate from college. My sweet husband prepared us a book sorting playlist to fit the weather, a little island flair courtesy of Jimmy Buffet and the like. We were sorting and singing (and I believe there was a little dancing) all day. As with all our events, there was a little magic to the day, Courtney was with us.

books for special education

Final count for the day!

The day ended with about 1,400 books packed up and ready for our partner schools! It was a great day. Thank you to all our donors and those of you who helped. It was a great day.

Little by little,

Kiki

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

