Skip to content

Life, according to Fred

June 20, 2011

Growing up I, like many of us, learned about how to be caring and helpful not just from my parents but from the king of being neighborly, Mister Fred Rogers. He was “Mister Rogers” to me, his first name in my mind was Mister and that was that. I used to get very mad when my Mom, trying to be funny, would call him Fred. She’d walk through the room and say “Hey Fred” or “Oh, that Fred, he’s so smart.” Sorry, Mom, his name is Mister Rogers and quit messing around. Little did I know, she loved him too. How could you not? A sweet man teaching kids how to be kind, believe in yourself and always find ways to help others.

Recently Bryan received a copy of the book “The World According to Mister Rogers” by Fred Rogers as a gift from, none other than, my Mom. It is a great little treasure of a book, full of quotes and musings from Fred. He had such a calm sensibility about him, here a a couple of my favorite quotes from the book:

“When I was a boy I used to think that strong meant having big muscles, great physical power; but the longer I live, the more I realize that real strength has much more to do with what is not seen. Real strength has to do with helping others.”

“Often when you think you’re at the end of something, you’re at the beginning of something else. I’ve felt that many times. My hope for all of us is that ‘the miles we go before we sleep’ will be filled with all the feelings that come from deep caring – delight, sadness, joy, wisdom – and that in all the endings of our life, we will be able to see the new beginnings.”

I have often struggled with the ending of Courtney’s life becoming the beginning of Court’s Kids. Here, as we approach the second anniversary of her passing I feel that even more. Would I prefer to have my sister here on this earth? Sure, no doubt, no question…I miss her. But, in her absence we have been able to do great things in her name.

“If you could only sense how important you are to the lives of those you meet; how important you can be to people you may never even dream of. There is something of yourself that you leave at every meeting with another person. 

books for special needs

Kiki & Courtney

Well put, Fred…I couldn’t agree more.

– Little by Little,

Kiki

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

