Skip to content

Surprises

April 24, 2011

This morning began just as many across the country, running around, getting everyone fed, showered, dressed, hair combed, teeth brushed and in the car in time to make it to the Easter service. At our house we treated it as though it was a weekday morning. Trying to make the 8:30 service with “Gramma and Granpa” that made the most sense, stick with our routine.

As with most mornings, Colin was not super excited to interrupt Sesame Street to head upstairs and get dressed. We went through our usual routine of the countdown:”in 10 min we’re going to go get dressed! 5 min going to go get dressed” and so on which is usually pretty successful. He did great, went upstairs with little issue. We got diaper changed and mostly dressed, pants and undershirt. And then a quick trip into the closet to get an appropriate Easter shirt turned into a long trip.

In Colin’s closet I have a stash of books on a shelf. All are from Courtney. She brought a ton up when she came to meet Colin for the first time. She was so happy to be an Auntie, something she had given me the pleasure of being three times over so to say she was ready would be an understatement. She brought a huge treasure of much loved books from her kiddos. They had carefully gone through their own bookshelves and all selected books to share with “Baby Colin”. They are my favorite to share with Colin. Somehow books that have already been loved and adored seem so much more wonderful.

She brought a great selection of reading levels. So, I just set them carefully in Colin’s bookshelf in his closet and every so often we grab more as he expands his interest. And, as it was today, he sometimes pulls them down on his own. I ran in with him to grab a shirt with seconds to spare, and he’s hollering, “books, books, books”. Not something most parents would be deterred by, but we were in a time crunch and I know how he can take his time choosing just the right one…but how could I not stop? If he were hollering “candy, candy, candy” I’d think differently…so we stopped.

He selected two.  One an “I Spy” find the object book and the other, “Hello Hook ‘Em!”. Those of you who know us are painfully aware of our Texas roots, and of Courtney’s rabid Longhorn support. When he pulled this one out I chuckled, “ok, let’s go get mommy dressed now” thinking of my sister and how she loved Texas football. On with the show, I got myself dressed as Colin sat happily flipping through his new books. At one point I looked a little more closely at the book he had. It was the Longhorn book, and inside the front cover was an inscription. It was from Courtney to Colin.

“Keeping it in the family! Love you!” dated June 2009. She and the kids visited us the first week of June to meet Colin and head out from the Portland airport to visit our parents in Texas. She came back a couple of weeks later, stayed one night, and headed back home to Klamath Falls, OR just 6 hours south of here. Later that week we all flew and drove in from all areas of the country to be with her in her final hours.

When she came up to meet Colin she brought a truckload of stuff for him. All sizes and ages so, I get surprises of this kind every now and then. They always take me completely off guard, they are always so full of love and yank me out of the daily ‘to dos’ to remind me of what is important. Part of me feels as though I get these little surprises as moments of connection and support for what we’re doing in her name.

books for special education

West Texas Girls

Little by little,

Kiki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tedi Call permalink
    April 29, 2011 11:54 pm

    Wow, I don’t even know what to say. I remember that day when I got the call that Courtney was flown to Bend and put in the hospital. It is so hard to believe it has been two years. I too have little nuggets of memory from her pop up when going through things. Especially my childrens things. She was always spoiling my kids and they miss her as much as I do. I ran into Maggie at the store today and she told me to check out this site. I have lost all connection with Nate and the kids and it is such a blessing to see this great organization stem from such a terrible loss. I don’t know how often you check this Kiki but if you could would you give me Nate’s address?
    Sincerely Tedi

Leave a Reply

