Skip to content

501(c)3? Check!

April 3, 2011

We. Did. It.

For those of you who’ve been following us, you know what a journey we have taken the last almost 2 years. Part of that journey has been the application for our 501c3. I had no idea what a process it would be. The application itself is massive and the review process is lengthy to say the least. Let’s just say the IRS is doing an amazing job of making sure people don’t start up phony operations to suck money from genuinely kind hearted people. So, while it was a task, I’m thankful and we at Court’s Kids are now completely honored to say we are officially a 501(c)3 organization!!!

What does this mean?? It means that everything you donate to Court’s Kids is tax deductible! So, every Books by the Boxful box (which holds on average 150 books) you help us ship (usually about $30 or less) is deductible.

Personally, I am flabbergasted. Lee and I have worked through this process together and have waited patiently for so many months…well, Lee waited patiently, I, on the other hand, called our assigned agent and left a very positive message almost weekly. To be honest, I was doing what I usually do, hope for the best yet expect the worst. So, I was just trying to stay positive and not get excited.

I got the news via text, from my husband this Saturday, I was out running errands, one of which was to procure “Toy Story” figures (in particular, Woody the Cowboy) from the Disney Store for Colin’s upcoming 2nd birthday (he’s obsessed). When I got Bryan’s text (complete with photo of our acceptance letter) I burst into tears…right in the middle of the Disney Store. I’m sure the woman helping me thought I was devastated that they were clean out of Woody the Cowboy. Nope, I was better than ever and going home with Buzz and the Dinosaur would be more than great. I was correct, Colin has been thrilled with Buzz, carrying him around in a modified head lock. And Mommy?

books for special education

Kiki, Courtney & Lee

I’m more than okay, I’m over the moon, I get choked up still at the the thought of us having our 501(c)3. I can’t believe it. Maybe I just wanted it so much? I miss my baby sister every day, I am heartbroken that she’s not here, not doing what she wanted to do. I wanted to so badly to get this win for her, and we did it. We. Did. It.

Little by little,

Kiki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carla permalink
    April 4, 2011 7:17 am

    Kiki & Lee, I’m so proud of you guys. Your tenacity and commitment is amazing, and you’re accomplishing so much in Courtney’s name! You’re really making a difference in the lives of others, and that’s a wonderful thing. I hope the new IRS designation will allow you to take it all to the next level.

Leave a Reply

