Skip to content

Why did you start blogging?

January 13, 2011

Recently WordPress challenged its bloggers to post something every day, I don’t know if we will be able to do it but we’re going to try. Thankfully the kind folks at WordPress have been posting all sorts of ideas daily for what you could write about. Today’s topic suggestion was, “Why did you start blogging?” and I think I can write about that one.

I started this blog for our organization with the idea that “hey, people start charities all the time, what if we wrote about our experience going through the process?”. I was sure we would not have been the first but, maybe it would be compelling and possibly helpful to others going through the same process. Maybe we could find others to relate with and share with. I started out with this idea in mind but it became something very different.

For me, it became cathartic, therapeutic and a place to share who my sister was and keep her alive and present. As far back as I can remember I have been a part of this duo, “Kiki and Courtney” and all of a sudden, in the blink of an eye, I wasn’t. When she passed away I was at a complete loss and didn’t know what to do. As a ‘doer’ I needed desperately to have something to do and this organization gave that to me. Every day that I work on Court’s Kids I am a part of that duo again and she is with me.

books for special needs

Kiki & Courtney

Courtney loved kids, her own more than anything in this world. She gave her brothers and sisters the great honor of being aunts and uncles three times…we are so blessed with the amazing children she gave to the world. When my son Colin was born, Courtney became something she had never been before, an aunt. To say she was excited would be a vast understatement, she was nuts. The weekend she came up to see him for the first time she came with her kiddos and a carload full of much loved toys, books and clothes for him. I don’t think I got to hold him the whole time she was here. In fact she wanted to take him with her to sleep in the guest room with all his cousins one night. I kick myself often for not just letting her do that.

She was so proud to be an auntie. And on the day she died she had been an aunt for only 80 days.

Why did I start blogging? It started out with the hope of being a first hand account of the birth and growth of a charitable organization and it became a lot more. Here, I share my sister’s voice and passion with the world, here we tell stories of the little ones we provide books for in her name, her she is alive, here I heal.

Little by little,

Kiki

“It is not length of life, but depth of life.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

One Comment leave one →
  1. Denise Dunbar permalink
    January 16, 2011 6:10 pm

    That is my favorite photo of my team “Kiki and Courtney”. I remember the first time someone called when they were very young and asked what I was doing I replied, “The girls and I are going shoppin.” It was a simple phrase but it launched the duo, the team, the “Kiki and Courtney” in my heart. Kiki is amazing in that she can do all that she does and still continue this beautiful tribute to kids who have limited voice. I see Courtney in her work too. Now, Courtney had a more direct and way less diplomatic approach to helping kids. However, together they were going to do much…and they have. Our Christmas together with all aunts, uncles, cousins, wives, soon-to-be-wives, husbands,children and non-stop talk we had our family under one roof. All our kids are smart but the grandkids are brilliant! In a book you can be anywhere and they found that out. May 2011 bring more families together to read. May more people help the team of Kiki and Courtney take the much needed books to children who have more hurdles than others. Thank you my Kiki. I love you to the moon and back. Your sister sees it all. Ah, my girls.

Leave a Reply

