Skip to content

213 Books on their way to new homes

January 12, 2011

Late this afternoon, on my way home from work I visited my friends at the Postal Annex by my house to send out our latest shipment of Book by the Boxful books. Two boxes full of books for little readers. 213 in total with a mixture of titles for all sorts of reading levels including Kindergarten on up through 6th grade.

The books are headed to our new partner school in Michigan, outside Detroit. A school, like many others, in need of a school library. The books we sent will help give them a a little start. A variety of books to help promote literacy from early stories like Goodnight Moon and all manner of Curious George and Berenstein Bears to giving older kiddos something fun like Harry Potter and Junie B Jones.

books for special education

Sorting by grade level

Last night I mentioned we were about to get some snow here in Portland. Good thing I’m not a weather man, all we got was a ton of rain…oh well, that’s to be expected this time of year in the Pacific NW. So, my trip to ship the books was a soggy one. As I hauled the boxes in I was excited to send them on their way and the idea that I got the unique pleasure of having touched every single book in these boxes myself. And I carefully taped up the boxes and applied our little labels I was (as I always am) really thrilled to get to do this work in my sister’s name. She would have loved this…

Little by little,

Kiki

Leave a Reply

