Skip to content

Need a little Christmas…

December 11, 2010

If you are anything like me you love Christmas music this time of year, I find the local “Official Christmas Music Station” and put it on a preset for the few weeks after Thanksgiving. I don’t listen to it nonstop but give myself a little dose each day. Last week we had the joy of attending our son’s very first Holiday Program at his school. It was cute, each class sang a song or two accompanied by a violinist. Colin’s class (average age 18 months) didn’t really sing, they kind of stared at the parents in confusion. I work about 40 minutes from his little school so my trip there, in the pouring rain we were blessed with that day, took me an hour. An hour’s drive for  a minute and a half of confused toddlers mesmerized by their teachers singing along with a violin….it was worth every single second.

Any parent would agree with me, I know, but I also know that Courtney would have agreed with me more vehemently than any parent. She loved her kids like no one I’ve ever known. She loved kids in general and made them all feel like little heroes every day. It was with her children that she moved mountains to show them how much she cared and how important they were. When I was stuck in the pouring rain, in traffic, staring at the clock and praying that I would make it that I felt Courtney in the car with me…no doubt hollering at drivers to get out of the way because her nephew had an event. It was small, and he’ll probably not remember his first Holiday Program but, I will and I’m so glad I got to see it.

It kicked off our Christmas with a bang. Today we got our Christmas tree and decorated, it was funny. Bryan and I decorated while Colin played with ornaments, danced to Christmas carols on the iPod and checked in with his favorite movie playing in the background. Tomorrow we have our second annual Court’s Kids gift wrapping event. I’m getting really excited for it, 9-5 at the Washington Square Barnes & Noble here in Portland. I was having a little trouble getting into the holiday spirit but the last few days changed that. Courtney was a big fan of Christmas music, annoyingly so at times. Today I walked around with her voice in my head, happily belting out one of her favorites:

“For we need a little music,
Need a little laughter,
Need a little singing
Ringing through the rafter,
And we need a little snappy
“Happy ever after,”
Need a little Christmas now.”

We’ve got it, girl.

Little by little,

Kiki

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

