Skip to content

Goals

August 11, 2010

Let me start this evening’s post by sending out a special thank you to our buddy Donovan for his Reader’s Reflect post this week! We’ve been so blessed to have such great supporters along our way.

Speaking of which, we have another pallet of books coming tomorrow for our Big Sort event on August 21st! We’ve also gotten overwhelming support from volunteers willing to help us sort books and pack them up for our partner schools. Our goal is to distribute 3,000 books before our first anniversary which is September 15th. I feel really confident we can do it. We’ve come a long way from our first sort, which I did solo, this day we have a small army of helpers and I am so thankful for each and every one of them. I am getting so excited to dig through boxes of books with our new friends and find all sorts of gems to send to our partner schools.

Donovan’s post this week made me think a little more about the kinds of books little readers love and what we need to look for during our sort. I think it goes without saying that the Goosebumps series will be a hot commodity. We also support early childhood programs so I got to thinking about Colin’s favorites.  It is impossible to say no to him when he brings me a book and tugs on my leg. Like all other moms I have dinner to make, the dishwasher to unload, lunches to make. Those of you who know me well know that I am overly organized and disarray bugs me. Colin has taught me that a little disarray is no big deal. The dishwasher can wait if he wants to read “Is Your Mama a Llama?” at least 4 times in a row. But that’s okay, that’s what moms are for right?

Off we go to find those books that excited and enthrall our little friends and make them tug on their parent’s leg to read with them. That’s what Court’s Kids is all about, providing kids with special needs with books to inspire and encourage.

Little by LIttle,

children reading

My Little Summer Reader

Kiki

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

