Skip to content

Where do you see yourself in 1 year?

June 22, 2010

Isn’t that always an interesting question? You never really know right? I guess it’s more about where you would like to be in one year versus where you will be. Lately we’ve been talking about the birth of Court’s Kids and how this all started. If someone had asked me that question a year ago I would have probably said something like “oh, I sure hope I’ve figured out this mom stuff and that Colin is happy and healthy and we’ve settled into our own little family routine”.  Court’s Kids wasn’t something I had anywhere in my brain. I had a job, and now a family, starting a charity would be something I might see myself doing once I retire, as an empty nester looking for something to do while Bryan golfed.

A year ago today we were heading down to Bend, OR where Courtney lay unresponsive in the ICU. Just days before she had been at my house, passing through Portland on her way back home to Klamath Falls with the kids. She was fine, I saw her, hugged her, kissed the kids and went off to work. She left our house a little while later and made it home safely, and all was well. So how could we be sitting in this position? It made no sense, it still doesn’t.

How we got to this point a year later with Court’s Kids off and running still kind of stuns me. It seems a little blurry at times. But we’re nearing the end of our first year as an organization and I’m pretty proud of us. Lee and I started everything last September, at the beginning of the school year, and we made it through our first full school year building relationships with far more schools than I ever would have imagined. With the books we donated to the Evergreen School last week we’re now at 6,900 books distributed in Courtney’s name.

This school year has come to a close, I am so excited about the relationships we’ve built and am really looking forward to a summer of building more, stocking up for the 2010-11 school year and further establishing ourselves as a viable organization. Where do I want to be in one year? Hmmm…I’d love to be sitting here telling you how we’ve more than doubled our schools and donations and have a full time employee but I know better than to make predictions. Courtney always took life as it came, she had big dreams but kind of flew by the seat of her pants. I was always the planner, very organized and methodical, this year she taught me how to fly by the seat of my pants (just a little) and see where this goes. At every turn we’ve found new friends, new schools, new supporters. Hopefully we’ve found just the right mixture of organization and reckless abandon.

Little by Little,

Kiki

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

