Skip to content

Summer Reading

June 3, 2010

It’s that time of year, school is almost out, graduation parties are being planned and held, Father’s Day is approaching and everyone should (in theory) have a little more time for summer reading. Last summer I was chewing through the “Twilight” series. Courtney had begged me to give them a shot. Always a fan of mystery, romance and fantasy, I wasn’t shocked when she was all over this series.

To be honest I was a little hesitant to jump on the bandwagon, plus the 7-800 page volumes were a little intimidating…I was a new mom heading back to work…when would I have time to read these? But I was drawn in at the first chapter and had fun with the story, I was kind of hooked. Courtney was so pleased, I can see her, “I told you so” grin now. The books did just what you want summer reading to do, pull you in and take you on a little adventure. I had just started the second book when Courtney passed, they got me through the quiet times when I didn’t know what to do with myself. It was before Court’s Kids even became an idea.

When I got to the fourth book I was juggling a lot, late summer, busy back at work, Colin getting more alert and mobile, Bryan traveling more. One day I came home from work to find our beloved lab, Leroy, had decided he was a Twilight fan too and literally devoured the fourth book…pieces of the book were EVERYWHERE… Awesome. I keep meaning to get a new copy, finish the series. Part of me keeps putting it off, maybe (as silly as it sounds) if I keep putting it off then Courtney’s absence isn’t really final. Super silly, I know.

This summer I’m starting the True Blood/Sookie Stackhouse series, written by Charlaine Harris. I have a lot less time this summer, Colin is walking now so he’s all over the place…I don’t sit still for very long. But, my husband has moved through them and swears I will love them. I don’t doubt it for a second, I’m loving the first one so far.

Court’s Kids has been working with the Shadow Project recently to encourage summer reading amongst our friends in special education programs in the Portland area. I’m really excited to learn more about what books the kids are choosing for their summer reading. I can remember some of my favorites as a kid, the Beverly Cleary series was always a hit. Anything that had a little sense of adventure and kids being the hero were always fun. That’s what summer reading is for, right? Taking you on a little adventure, no matter where you are, or what your challenges are.

Little by Little,

Kiki

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise "Mom" Dunbar permalink
    June 8, 2010 9:50 am

    It was a year ago this week that Courtney arrived in Texas with three kids. DadDay and I waited at the bottom of the escalator like we always do when kids come home to El Paso; you can go no further and this is the first place you can see them. I saw eight tennis shoes on two steps, then bags and pillows, and then Teddy’s head, Ashleigh’s head, Thomas’ and then my beautiful daughter, all smiles. Funny what you remember, especially when before this month would end… I wanted to replay everything.

    Courtney came late to the joy found in reading. School was a struggle for her. That was the reason she could relate to special needs kids. She needed more time to process words. That is until the Twilight series. I hope Stephanie Meyers understands one day that her books were the last thing my daughter read. I had to read them because of Courtney and I loved them too. Ask my kids any measure of horror or diasaster in print or film is my style.

    Summer reading shifted dramatically when we lost her. I was given many books on how to survive the loss of a child, how to go on living, how to suck in air and open your eyes. The only thing that worked, in terms of books, was having my husband (the Imperial DadDay as he requires kids and grandkids to call him) read to me from the third reading of his favorite Patrick Obrien series on life at sea (Master and Commander went to film). The comfort of his voice reading about a place far away was the only thing that got through. One day I put on my shoes. Then I began reading my own books. Life looks almost normal from one year away.
    Almost
    We are blessed with Kiki who still calls me every day. I am not lying…every day. Jane, Wells, and Lee are visiting. This summer we have Lee’s wife staying with us as she completes an internship. This house needs young people in it. It needs someone yelling for their keys, or asking for a dry towel, or wondering when we are going to eat. It is our own brand of crazy and I love it, every minute of it. Courtney’s kids will visit us too and we plan to swim and read and watch horror and disaster films. Then before they go to bed we can read I Love You For Ever and Little by Little. That’s my summer reading.

    I cannot wait to have Kiki’s baby here for the first time either. He has to learn how to be a Texas boy!

Trackbacks

  1. Summer Reading Part 2 – A few words from Courtney’s Mom « Court's Kids

Leave a Reply

