Skip to content

Reader’s Reflect: Live, Laugh, Read

May 24, 2010

“Readers Reflect,” is a weekly post by a guest blogger reflecting on a formative book, character, or reading experience that has been particularly meaningful in their life as a reader. To submit your own “Readers Reflect” essay, please contact us atcourtskids@gmail.com

Today we welcome author Nancy Krulik author of the Katie Kazoo Switcheroo Series:

I love to laugh, and I love to read.  But for me, the best times are when I get to laugh while I read.

My love of reading all things funny started when I was really little, maybe five or six, just as I was beginning to be able to really read on my own.    Growing up in my house, it didn’t really matter what you read, as long as you read.  That was especially true on the weekends.  Every Sunday my father would take me to a local store to get bagels and lox.  After we’d picked up all the fish and fixings, he’d let me go to the candy store on the corner and buy a comic book.  That was so much fun.  I could pick out any one I wanted.  Most of the time it was an Archie comic, but sometimes it was a Sabrina the Teenage Witch or a Mmmmillie the Model. (I don’t remember very much about those except that Millie’s boyfriend was named Clicker because he was a photographer and his camera made a clicking noise when he took pictures.  For some reason I thought that was hilarious!) I always started reading my weekly comic book before we were even out of the store.

I know some people think comic books are frivolous, but I don’t.  For those of you who are anti-comic, please know that those comic books didn’t hurt me. In fact, they nurtured my love of reading. I read plenty of other things as well—like my mom’s old Nancy Drew books, for instance. I thought it was really cool they were the actual ones she had read in her room as a kid, although for the life of me I couldn’t imagine my mom ever having been a kid! 

Today, I write funny books.  My hope is sometime in the future, some author will be asked to write a blurb for a website, and she’ll recall going to a local bookstore and picking up a Katie Kazoo Switcheroo novel and starting to read it before she even got out of the store.  And I really hope she remembers laughing.

Happy Reading!

Nancy Krulik

Nancy Krulik is the author of more than 100 books for children and young adults, including three New York Times bestsellers. She is best known, however, for being the author and creator of the Katie Kazoo, Switcheroo book series.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

