Skip to content

Readers Reflect: Guest Blogger R.L. Stine

May 5, 2010

“Readers Reflect,” is a weekly post by a guest blogger reflecting on a formative book, character, or reading experience that has been particularly meaningful in their life as a reader. To submit your own “Readers Reflect” essay, please contact us at courtskids@gmail.com

We have been inviting some of our favorite authors to join our Reader’s Reflect series by giving us a short snippet of how they became writers, what made them love books and writing. I am so honored to present to you our first author, R.L. Stine of the Goosebumps series!  We asked Mr. Stine to tell us how he came to writing. Here’s what he had to say:

“When I discovered an old typewriter in our attic at the age of nine, I don’t know why I found it so fascinating. I dragged it to my room and started to type short stories and joke magazines. I think I knew when I was nine that I wanted to be a writer.
My mother would stand outside my door and urge me to go outside and play. But I always replied, “It’s BORING out there!” And continued to type.

I was a shy, fearful kid. I was afraid of the dark, afraid to go down to the basement, afraid someone was lurking in our dark garage at night. It was terrible at the time, but I guess it was lucky. Now when I sit down to write my scary stories, I can think back and remember that feeling of panic– and use it in my books.”

– R.L. Stine – Author of the Goosebumps series. R.L.’s books are read all over the world. So far, he’s sold over 300 million books, making him one of the best selling children’s authors of all time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

