Skip to content

The Forest for the Trees

April 13, 2010

This weekend we had a board meeting for Court’s Kids which included a “big picture” look at what we’ve done so far since our incorporation in September 2009. Our milestone of donating 5,000 books in our first 6 months was the most exciting topic of course. But when I actually took the time to run down all of our accomplishments, big and small, I was a little overwhelmed myself. We’ve done a lot so far…in the 7 months since we started. Our initial goal was to be working with 10-15 schools or programs by the end of our first year, we’re working with 6 now…close to our goal…little by little.

I guess when you are right in the middle of something, forging ahead, it is hard to actually see where you are and where you’re headed. This weekend we took the opportunity to do that and it was exciting. For me, Courtney was my baby sister, and as we approach the first anniversary of her death I am still not prepared to live in a world where she isn’t a part of my every day. So, I don’t know how to do anything else but to make this a part of my every day. The benefits are amazing, I have the opportunity to work with my  incredibly talented brother, and together we get to help kids in Courtney’s name.

So, in the spirit of helping kiddos, this week is the Week of the Young Child which is held each year to honor young children and thank teachers and all those who make a difference in young children’s lives. This week, thank a teacher, donate a book, support those who help enrich the lives of America’s Young Children.

Little by Little,

Kiki

Kiki & Courtney as Young Children

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

