Skip to content

First Stories

February 18, 2010

Over the past few weeks we’ve been having fun with our guest blogging series, “Readers Reflect”.  There are so many ways books influence our lives, it makes you wonder what the first book was…what story grabbed you and pulled you in and made you look at things in a new way. That is the goal of our guest blogging series.

The last few days I have been looking at my son and his interest in books in relationship to this series…what will Colin’s book be? Lately he’s completely in love with “Growl Goes The Bear”, it is a little board book, all of 4 pages long. But it has those funny “googily” eyes on all the animals and he’s really interested in eyes and noses and mouths right now. He likes to point at them, often squishing noses or poking you right in the eyeball with his tiny fingers. He loves this book, he’s crazy about it, I read it to him at least once a day if not several times a day and often several times in one sitting.  You also have to (of course) make all the sounds of the animals, the bear says growl, the lion says roar, the owl says hoo hoo and the wolf says howl. Makes me wonder if he’ll remember this book like Lee remembers “Dinotopia”.

It also makes me think of the books we’re providing, and as I sort through copies of “Goodnight Moon” (another Colin favorite), countless copies of Curious George (one of Courtney’s sons’ favorites) and numerous Berenstein Bears stories (Courtney’s favorites), I wonder how many of these will be so loved and be the book…the one that created a reader.

“Growl Goes the Bear” cost me $1, it has 4 pages, and my son loves it…how great is reading??

We have asked you, our readers, to tell us about the book or author who made you love reading. We’ve got some fun submissions lined up for the next few months but we want to keep it going so jump in anytime!

Little by Little,

Kiki

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 4:11 pm

    My 1 year old LOVES this book and carries it around all day at her daycare, but I can’t find it anywhere!! I want a copy for her at home so if you can give me any leads I’d appreciate it!

    • kikigrant permalink*
      February 10, 2011 11:11 pm

      Hi there! Which one? Growl goes the Bear or Dinotopia? I got Growl Goes the Bear at Target a while back, let me do a little research and see if I can’t find you a resource.
      – Kiki

  2. February 11, 2011 6:17 am

    My little girl is in LOVE with “Growl Goes the Bear” which was sold in the Target $1 bins some time in the past. I have no other information, but NEED this book. She carries it around school and it has become “hers”, including the teeth marks, but we need a new copy for home (and school).
    Thank you for any leads!
    We love to read in our family and books are a passion 🙂

Leave a Reply

