Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving

November 27, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

This past year I have many things to be thankful for, we were blessed with the birth of our son, we’ve settled into our home in Oregon, we have jobs, and we’re healthy. We’ve also suffered a crippling loss with Courtney’s absence, and our lives will never be the same. But, losing her has given us the catalyst to be able to work together as a family to build this organization in her honor, something she would have loved to just be a part of. So far we’ve donated 2,700 books, books children get to take home and keep to begin building their home libraries. Home libraries were important to Courtney and I’d like to think that in her absence 2,700 kids now have the start of their own little libraries. And we’re not finished. This is only the beginning, we have other schools we are touching base with. We are close to finishing our 501c3 and building our website. We have a great support system and unlimited potential. I am encouraged every day.

So, as I make the brine for our turkey for tomorrow, watch my turkey stock and hope for good things with the pumpkin pie I have in the oven I think of Courtney an her influence on this evening. I’m a collector of recipes, I can’t help myself, I should have a file cabinet in the kitchen. For my birthday one year Courtney gave me a recipe book, a three ring binder style where I could add as many as I like. She even pre-loaded some with her favorites, in her handwriting which I totally cherish. And the inscription says “To: My Big Sister”. Thank you Baby Sister, for all you have given me, I wish you were here…hollering at the TV during the Texas game (they won) and helping me finish up the details of Thanksgiving dinner, having a little Mommy Time while the kiddos sleep….I miss you.

Little by Little,

Kiki

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

