Skip to content

New Relationships & Giving Thanks

November 24, 2009

Last week I had the wonderful opportunity to meet the staff and tour the Hazel Dell Elementary School in Vancouver, WA. It is a beautiful school with an incredible staff. They also have a really active PTA and community support. This is a school which really needs community supporters, on average, 68% of their students qualify for free or reduced lunch. The school is so great, bright and cheery, smiling faces, colorful rooms and amazing teachers. They supply a stable, supportive and encouraging atmosphere and help many children see their true potential. This is truly an environment Courtney would have just loved. Seeing the moms at the popcorn cart (it was popcorn Friday) made me smile, I know she would have been one of those moms at her children’s schools. She’d be right there, popping popcorn and handing it out, knowing most of the kiddos by name.We’re working on supporting their program now, adding Hazel Dell would bring our school count to 4!

Coming home, giddy from seeing such a great school I stopped to pick up the mail and was greeted with an amazing surprise. A check from our biggest donor yet, $1,000! Holy Cow! Out of respect for the donor and their family’s privacy I won’t name them here but I can’t even begin to say how much this will help us. There are so many things we can do with this money. I was just wondering how we were going to be able to pay for our 501c3 application fee, how we were going to pay for shipping for a few more donation boxes to be shipped, and a million other things that every growing organization wonders. What an amazing day.

Thanksgiving is rapidly approaching and this donation adds to the list of things I am so thankful for. I’ve also gotten the amazing privilege of working with these schools in Courtney’s honor. I’m going to really miss Courtney this holiday, those are supposed to be the really tough times when you lose someone right? But, I am encouraged by how much we have been able to do in such a short time, how much impact we’ve had with our initial efforts and so thrilled at what we can do in the future.

In preparation for the days ahead I’ll leave you with Courtney’s favorite Thanksgiving Day poem, it was one she and Lee first learned in kindergarten.

“Gobble Gobble” says the turkey,

“Soon it will be Thanksgiving Day

Will they eat me? How’ll they treat me?

Guess I’ll have to run away!”

– Little by Little

Kiki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marti Lloid permalink
    December 7, 2009 4:35 pm

    To all of you at Court’s Kids:

    Friday morning my principal, Woody Howard, arrived at my classroom door with a box of books for my kids here at Hazel Dell Elementary. I was completely overwhelmed by your generosity! It just happened to be “Footy Friday”–a day when the kids put on their slippers, we drink hot chocolate, and read, read, read. It was nothing short of amazing that the books arrived on that day! My kids were thrilled, and helped me sort them, talk about them, and everyone went home with a new book. The kids are excited because I told them everyone would get another book next Friday.

    Courtney Bunfill must have been an exceptional woman to inspire such an organization–and now, you have me to help support this wonderful group in any way I can.

    Thank you again for your compassion and generosity to our children here at Hazel Dell.

    Marti Lloid, Special Ed Teacher, Hazel Dell Elementary, Vancouver, WA

Leave a Reply

