Skip to content

A “Truckload” of Books

November 6, 2009

Today I spent the better part of the day out at the warehouse of River City Books sorting through the thousands of children’s books they have generously donated to our efforts. They have been incredibly generous and helpful supporters of Court’s Kids. The books are in wonderful condition and there is a great supply! Thank you River City!

IMG00031-20091105-1759

The Trailblazer Packed to the Gills

I came home with my Trailblazer packed to the gills, just enough room left over for Colin to ride home with Mommy. As I was driving home, a little worn out and dusty I couldn’t help but be so thrilled to be able to do this, to have these wonderful books to share. And as I listened to Colin chattering away in his car seat, sleepy from a big day at ‘school’ and surrounded by 1400 kid’s books my heart smiled. The image was one I’ll never forget, he had no idea what was in the boxes next to him, I can’t wait for the day when he understands what we are doing. Thank you Courtney, for providing me with this very clear lesson of giving to others that I can share with Colin. I want him to be as giving as she was.

I have 600 books separated out for the Vancouver Early Childhood Center, the next step is just to add stickers. We’re having more simple (and cheap) stickers made up  which will be placed on each book so we can further spread the word. We should be ready to make a delivery in the next couple of weeks. Just as a reminder, we have committed to provide VECC with 50 books for each of their classrooms, 50 books for each of their Speech Therapists and a set of books for the school to start a Birthday Book program where each child can go and pick a book to keep on their birthday.  I can’t wait to get them ready to drop off and I can’t wait to tell you all about it!

Donated Books

A "Boxful of Books"

Thank you to those of you who have been helping us spread the word about Court’s Kids. Every time you talk about us, send someone to our website, or visit our blog, you are helping us to promote our efforts and you are saving us marketing dollars! We cannot do this without your support.

Little by Little,

Kiki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rafael Calderon permalink
    November 17, 2009 6:31 pm

    We are happy that River Books is able to donate books for such a good cause. It’s an honor to know that there are people like you who do care about others and take action. I look forward to be able to assist you when stop by and get some more books for Court’s kids.

Leave a Reply

