Skip to content

Anniversary

October 27, 2009

Hello All,

Today is the 4 month anniversary of Courtney’s passing. It actually caught me by surprise this morning as I was on my way to work. As Mondays usually are, it was busy, getting the baby ready for “school” getting myself ready for work, breakfast, showers, dressing, packing lunches. all the regular stuff. I dropped Colin at his school where I left him happily chattering away with a buddy, perhaps they were trading stories about the weekend? Anyway he was happy and didn’t even notice I left, can he be so big already?

I jumped back in the car, sent my husband a text that our boy was happy at school and started checking my emails for work, shifting from Mommy-mode to work-mode. Yes, I’ll admit that checking email on my phone while in traffic probably isn’t the best idea but, when you are bumper to bumper it helps get you caught up. Today was a little different, it was raining like crazy so things were moving slower. Once I felt sufficiently ‘checked in’ I pressed the button on the radio and I was surprised. The song that was playing was “Wonderful World” by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole, which was the song we chose to play at Courtney’s funeral. If you haven’t heard it, it is a really sweet and beautiful version of the cloassic merged with Over the Rainbow.

It is rare that I’ve heard that song on the radio at all but this was just starting, right at the beginning. Here as I was crossing the bridge into Washington in the pouring rain…Courtney loved the rain. It made me smile, we’ve made such amazing progress with our organization, more that I ever expected at this point. And I was just so proud of us, as a family for taking this on in spite of everything. And so I went, feeling Courtney with me riding across the bridge in the pouring rain.

Here we go folks, I feel an even bigger momentum coming, more than we ever expected. She is with us.

Little by Little,

Kikiry=400_3

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

