Skip to content

Time

June 8, 2011
by

In June, as with last year, my thoughts naturally turn to Courtney’s passing almost two years ago. It’s one of those milestones that you don’t look forward to. I think one of the more difficult things to think about when you lose someone you love is the passing of time. I tend to look at the passing months and now years a bit scornfully. Time is relentlessly continuing to pass.  In physics, they call this the ” arrow of time.” Time goes in one direction and it cannot be changed in it’s progress from point a to point b.  You can try and drive that DeLorean to 88 miles an hour, but you’re only going to get a speeding ticket. Time cannot be stopped.  When I think about the time since she was gone, I’ll sometimes feel like each day grows the distance between me and Courtney, as though I’m still on the train that she left.

Of course, I know I’m wrong, I remind myself that there are still many echoes of her that continue to move along with us. What we do here and now with Court’s Kids has her dreams and aspirations at it’s core.  Time continues to move, but her work still continues. The months may seem like grim milestones but there are other milestones that are cause for celebration. As you may have read, over 15,000 books have now been donated by Court’s Kids. Woven into each one of these books, is Courtney’s echo still resounding as powerful as ever, connecting with the children she loved to teach. Time might pass but she has remained a part of my life in this way. Because of that, I am personally very thankful to all those who have made this possible.

Thank You

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joy Taylor permalink
    June 9, 2011 10:33 am

    Dear Lee….you have written eloquently what most of us who loved Courtney feel. Thank you for healing with your words of love and wisdom.
    Love you…Auntie Joy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

